St. Louis Concert Calendar: Tuesday, August 21

by

It's the return of the St. Louis concert calendar! So, so many shows announced in the last month. Too many for me to count. Please click and behold the touring excellence stopping this way. Trust us: It's worth it.

-- Annie Zaleski

Thursday, August 23 *The Ditty Bops/Maid*Rite, Mad Art Gallery *Scott H. Biram, Off Broadway, 9 p.m.

Friday, August 24 *Rush, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater *Mark Olson (Jayhawks), Blueberry Hill's Duck Room, $10 *Team Tomato/The Museum Mutters/Wake Up Report/Krafted in Korea, Bluebird *Victoria/Tomahawk Apostle, Off Broadway *Rats & People/Mahtpa/Wooden Kites, Way Out Club

Saturday, August 25 *The Lot 2007: Jonathan Cour, Bunnygrunt, Nite Owl, Say Panther, Jumbling Towers, 7 Shot Screamers, Tenement Ruth, Schlafly Tap Room, 5 p.m., free

Sunday, August 26 *Gein & the Graverobbers/Ultraviolents/Vultures, Lemp Neighborhood Arts Center

Monday, August 27 *The Detroit Cobras/Dan Sartain/Willowz, Creepy Crawl, $12

Tuesday, August 28 *Rise Against/Silverstein/Comeback Kid, Pop’s, $20.50 *Ben Kweller, Off Broadway *Sleepytime Gorilla Museum/Terra Diablo, Creepy Crawl

Friday, August 31 *Femme Fatality/The Seasoned Professionals, Creepy Crawl, $10 *Bottoms Up Blues Gang, sixth anniversary, Off Broadway *Dos Dedos/Casey Reid/Grace Basement, Way Out Club *The Veils, Off Broadway

Saturday, September 1 *Big Muddy Blues Festival, featuring Big Sam's Funky Nation, Big George Brock, Kim Massie, others, free, Laclede's Landing. (IKE TURNER NO LONGER ON THE BILL!) *People Noise/Stella Mora/Jason House (ex-Ghost in Light), Lucas School House *Alice in Chains (unplugged), Pageant – SOLD OUT *Murder City Players, Bluebird *7 Shot Screamers/Tripdaddys, Off Broadway *Lapush/Troubadour Dali/Go Van Gogh, Cicero’s *The Safes/That’s My Daughter, Way Out Club *Satellite Party, Pop’s -- CANCELLED *The Sun Sawed in 1/2, Duck Room

Sunday, September 2 *Big Muddy Blues Festival, featuring Ike Turner, Big Sam's Funky Nation, Big George Brock, Kim Massie, others, free, Laclede's Landing *The Help/Humanoids, Bluebird *Riverspin, with Rob Lemon/Scotty mac/Mikey B/Luan/JNX, more, Throttle

Tuesday, September 4 *Lost Bayou Ramblers, Focal Point *Men, Women and Children, Pop’s

Wednesday, September 5 *The Format/Piebald/Limbeck/Steel Train/Reuben's Accomplice, Pop's, $13.50 *Volcom tour: Valient Thorr, Riverboat Gamblers, more, Creepy Crawl, $8

Thursday, September 6 *So Many Dynamos/Berlin Whale/Michael Davis, Cicero’s

Friday, September 7 *Mindless Self Indulgence, Pop's *An Under Cover Weekend: Night One, featuring Shame Club, Heroes of the Kingdom, Sex Robots, the Hibernauts, Robb Steele Off Broadway *Loverboy, Argosy Casino, Alton *Smile Smile/One Lone Car/Calhoun (ex-Flickerstick), Duck Room

Saturday, September 8 *Akron/Family, Creepy Crawl, $10 *An Under Cover Weekend: Night Two, featuring the Bureau, 7 Shot Screamers, Ghost in Light, the Feed, Fattback, Off Broadway *REO Speedwagon/Kansas/.38 Special, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater *Loverboy, Argosy Casino, Alton *Headlights/Foundry Field Recordings/Stella Mora, Billiken Club *Dave Aude, Dante’s

Sunday, September 9 *Jucifer/Waxwork of a Dynasty, Creepy Crawl, $10 *Harptallica (Metallica tribuet on harps), Lemp Neighborhood Arts Center

Monday, September 10 *Heartless Bastards, Blueberry Hill's Duck Room, 9 p.m. $12 *White Rabbits/Via Audio/Target Market, Off Broadway

Tuesday, September 11 *David Bazan/Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, Billiken Club *Kim Richey, Lucas School House

Wednesday, September 12 *MU330/Mustard Plug, Creepy Crawl *William Elliot Whitmore/Tim Barry (Avail), Off Broadway

Thursday, September 13 *Besnard Lakes/Starvin Hungry, Billiken Club *Eddie Money, Ameristar Casino’s Bottleneck Blues Bar, St. Charles

Friday, September 14 *Bloc Party/Smoosh/Final Fantasy, the Pageant, $22 *Los Straitjackets w/Big Sandy/Deke Dickerson, Beale on Broadway *Molly Hatchet (acoustic), Lucas School House

Saturday, September 15 *They Might Be Giants/Oppenheimer, the Pageant, $22.50 *Victoria/Hibernauts, Bluebird *Berlin Whale/Ecstatic Sunshine, Billiken Club

Sunday, September 16 *Aiden/Drop Dead, Gorgeous/Still Remains/1997, Creepy Crawl

Monday, September 17 *The Used/The Bled/Army of Me, Pageant, $25 *Powerman 5000, Pop's *Modern Life is War/Young Widows, Creepy Crawl

Tuesday, September 18 *Megadeth, Pop's

Wednesday, September 19 *Today Is the Day, Creepy Crawl, $15 to $18 *Common, Pageant

Thursday, September 20 *Emanuel, Creepy Crawl *Robbie Fulks, Lucas School House *Unwed Sailor, Bluebird

Friday, September 21 *Gentleman Auction House/Foundry Field Recordings/Color Deluxe, Bluebird

Saturday, September 22 *Mitch Easter (ex-Let’s Active), Lucas School House *Big Head Todd and the Monsters/Lucero/Soul Asylum, Taste of St. Louis, downtown *The Sudden Passion (Femme Fatality side project), Bluebird *Alina Simone, Lemp Neighborhood Arts Center

Sunday, September 23 *Heaven & Hell (Ronnie James Dio, Ton Iommi, Geezer Butler, Vinnie Appice)/Alice Cooper/Queensryche, Family Arena *Ana Popovic, BB’s Jazz, Blues and Soups *So Many Dynamos/Mock Orange/A Band Apart, Cicero’s

Monday, September 24 *Animal Collective/Tickley Feathers, Gargoyle *The Mathematicians/Dropsonic, Bluebird

Tuesday, September 25 *The Good Life, Gargoyle

Wednesday, September 26 *The Melvins/Big Business, Pop’s

Thursday, September 27 *Architects/The Wildbirds, Bluebird

Friday, September 28 *Flaming Lips, Pageant – SOLD OUT

Saturday, September 29 *The Disappeared (ex-Picturebook of Saints), Bluebird

Sunday, September 30 *Peter Frampton, Pageant

OCTOBER Monday, October 1 *Peter & the Wolf, Billiken Club

Tuesday, October 2 *Do Make Say Think, Billiken Club *Gito Gito Hustler, Way Out Club *Mushroomhead, Pop’s *Phil Lesh & friends, Pageant

Wednesday, October 3 *Over the Rhine, Duck Room

Thursday, October 4 *The Makes Nice (ex-Fucking Champs)/Shame Club, Bluebird

Friday, October 5 *The Twilight Sad, Billiken Club *Ryan Adams, Pageant – SOLD OUT

Saturday, October 6 *Hanson, Pageant

Sunday, October 7 *Machine Head/Arch Enemy, Pop's

Tuesday, October 9 *Yellowcard/Shiny Toy Guns/Blue October, Family Arena

Wednesday, October 10 *Ted Leo & the Pharmacists/The A-Sides/The Eternals, Gargoyle *Bomb the Music Industry, Creepy Crawl

Thursday, October 11 *Dan Deacon, Billiken Club *The Lemurs/The Bureau/We Vs. the Shark/Hibernauts, Bluebird *Johnette Napolitano, Duck Room

Friday, October 12 *Lawrence Arms, Creepy Crawl *Oh My God/The Feed, Bluebird *Show Me Blowout: Cripplers/Pink Socks/Rich Boys/Modern Primitives/Left Arm, Off Broadway

Saturday, October 13 *Adam Franklin (Swervedriver)/Stella Mora/Finn’s Motel, Bluebird *Show Me Blowout: Vultures/75’s/Vickroids/Thee Hypnic Jerks, aPop Records, daytime; Honkeys/Thee Fine Lines/Von Hodads/Monte Carlos/Nevermores, Off Broadway, night

Sunday, October 14 *Paolo Nutini/Sarah Bareillas, Pageant

Monday, October 15 *Rocky Votolato/Portugal. The Man/The Great Depression, Off Broadway

Tuesday, October 16 *Brandi Carlile/A Fine Frenzy, Pageant *That One Guy, Billiken Club *Underoath/Poison the Well/Maylene and the Sons of Disaster, Pop’s

Wednesday, October 17 *State Radio, Bluebird *Overkill, Pop’s

Friday, October 19 *Black Crowes/Buffalo Killers, Pageant

Saturday, October 20 *Henry Rollins (spoken-word), Pageant *Gringo Star/Bad Folk/Rats and People, Lemmons *Captured! By Robots with the Teddy Bear Orchestra, Bluebird *Strung Out/I Am Ghost, Creepy Crawl

Sunday, October 21 *Brand New/Thrice/mewithoutyou, Pageant, $23

Monday, October 22 *Nada Surf/Sea Wolf, Gargoyle *Jennifer O’Connor/Darren Jessee (ex-Ben Folds Five), Off Broadway *Ween, Pageant

Tuesday, October 23 *Insane Clown Posse, Pop’s *Nickel Creek, Pageant *Nebula/Holy Python, Creepy Crawl

Wednesday, October 24 *Minus the Bear/Tiny Vipers/Helio Sequence, Pop’s

Thursday, October 25 *Head of Femur/Walkie Talkie USA/Jon Hardy & the Public, Bluebird

Friday, October 26 *Beatallica, Pop’s

Saturday, October 27 *Melt Banana, Creepy Crawl

Sunday, October 28 *Van Halen, Scottrade Center *Lyrics Born, Lucas School House *Agnostic Front/Death Before Dishonor, Creepy Crawl

Monday, October 29 *Jesu/Fog/Torche, Pop’s

Tuesday, October 30 *Menomena, Billiken Club

Wednesday, October 31 *Traindodge, Bluebird

NOVEMBER Saturday, November 3 *Shame Club (CD release)/Laite, Bluebird

Sunday, November 4 *Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Sheldon *Job for a Cowboy/Behemoth/Gorjira/Beyond the Massacre, Pop’s

Wednesday, November 7 *Sick of It All, Creepy Crawl

Friday, November 9 *Girl Talk, Gargoyle

Monday, November 12 *Regina Spektor, Pageant

Monday, November 19 *Of Montreal/Grand Buffet/Mgmt, Pageant, $15

Friday, November 23 *The Academy Is…/Armor for Sleep/Rocket Summer/Sherwood, Pop’s

Tuesday, November 27 *The Spill Canvas/Meg & Dia/Playradioplay!/the New Atlantic, Creepy Crawl

DECEMBER Monday, December 3 *Electric Six, Creepy Crawl

comment