Dan Zettwoch's Birdseye Bristoe Gets Some National Press -- And It Ain't Even Out Yet

by

comment
birdseye_bristoe_cover.jpg
Frequent RFT contributor Dan Zettwoch has a brand-new book coming out this June, Birdseye Bristoe, and it's already generating a ton of interest among comic fans. Dan Nadel of The Comic Journal posted an eight-page preview of the graphic novel that should stoke the interest even higher. Go give it a look.

The subject of Birdseye Bristoe is the erection of a cell phone tower in a small town with only one resident -- the old man known as Uncle. Fans of Zettwoch's "Amazing Facts and Beyond" strip here in the RFT will immediately recognize his style; cross-sectional diagrams of things like giant pikes, a fascination with facts both real and imagined and a genuine appreciation for what Zettwoch terms "decrepit roadside Americana stuff" are on full display.

Zettwoch celebrates the release of Birdseye Bristoe at 7 p.m. Friday, June 22, at Star Clipper (6392 Delmar Boulevard; www.starclipper.com) in the Delmar Loop. Joining him is fellow St. Louis comic craftsman Kevin Huizenga, who will be promoting his own book, Gloriana, the same night. If you're a fan of quality comics -- and they're both published by high-end publisher Drawn & Quarterly, so you know the books are quality -- you should swing by to get your copy.

Tags

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Riverfront Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Riverfront Times Club for as little as $5 a month.