Missouri Arts Council Names 2010 Award Winners; Opera Theatre of St. Louis Honored


The Missouri Arts Council yesterday announced its 2010 arts award winners.

The only St. Louis organization and/or artist to make this year's list was Opera Theatre of St. Louis.

The full list of winners by category:
Arts Education: Dr. Robert Gifford, Cape Girardeau
Arts Organization: Opera Theatre of St. Louis, St. Louis
Creative Community: The City of Lee's Summit, Lee's Summit
Individual Artist: Jim Leedy, Lake Lotawana
Leadership in the Arts: Marie Nau Hunter, Columbia
Philanthropy: Joseph L. Gray, St. Joseph

The awards will officially be presented in a ceremony at 2 p.m. on February 10, 2010 at the Capitol Rotunda in Jefferson City.